In addition to the International Councillors, Advisory Board and Roundtable high-level events, the Membership Groups host a variety of prestigious special events throughout the year:

The Zbigniew Brzezinski Annual Prize honors the legacy of the late Dr. Zbigniew Brzezinski by spotlighting leaders in U.S. foreign policy that recognize and promote the importance of geostrategic thinking with a transcending moral purpose. The Prize is intended to foster constructive ideas with moral clarity and practical applications for today’s global challenges and is awarded on a bipartisan basis. Past recipients include former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates, U.S. President Joseph Biden, former U.S. Secretary of the Navy John Warner, and former U.S. Trade Representative Carla Hills.

The Sam Nunn National Security Leadership Prize honors the legacy of former Senator Sam Nunn by spotlighting and supporting courageous leaders who demonstrate vision and wisdom in addressing global challenges and who put our nation's interest ahead of political considerations. Past recipients include former U.S. Secretary of Defense Ash Carter, former U.S. Congressman Mac Thornberry, former U.S. Secretary of Defense James Mattis, and former U.S. Under Secretary of Defense for Policy Michele Flournoy.

The William Brock Annual Prize for Constructive Leadership was established to commemorate the late Senator William Brock’s legendary contributions to CSIS. The Prize is given to the leading CSIS research/policy effort that had the greatest impact every year. CSIS scholars who have done the most to promote policy changes that build a stronger, more peaceful, and more prosperous world will be recognized through this prize. The inaugural recipients are former CSIS Senior Fellow with the Economics Program, Gerard DiPippo, and CSIS Senior Fellow with the Trustee Chair in Chinese Business and Economics, Ilaria Mazzocco.

For more information please contact Karen Wong, Senior Vice President for Membership Groups and Special Events, and Corporate Secretary, CSIS, at (202) 775-3196 or