Video On Demand

The CPTPP at Three

October 28, 2021 • 8:00 – 9:00 pm EDT

What are the impacts on digital trade to date – and who will join in 2022?

In 2018, 11 countries—Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam—came together to sign the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). The agreement deepened the liberalization of trade in goods and services among the members and broke new ground addressing digital trade issues via a comprehensive e-commerce chapter. Today, the CPTPP is the epicenter of world trade politics and digital trade policymaking. Several economies such as UK, China, Korea, and Taiwan have expressed interest in acceding to the agreement, and the United States remains reluctant to join. In addition, many CPTPP members have signed trade agreements with even more forward-looking digital trade rules than included in the CPTPP.

This panel discussion discusses the impact of the CPTPP and its e-commerce provisions on trade, investment, and e-commerce to date, and assesses the future composition and commitments of the bloc in 2022.

This event is made possible by generous support from Google.

Kati Suominen
Adjunct Fellow (Non-resident), Europe, Russia, and Eurasia Program

Ambassador Robert Holleyman

Partner and CEO, Crowell & Moring International

David Weller

Director of Economic & Trade Policy, Google

Deborah Elms

Founder and Executive Director, Asian Trade Centre