DOD Executive Development Program: Leadership in Times of Transition

February 21 – 24, 2016

The CSIS Executive Development Program: Leadership in Times of Transition was organized for the U.S. Department of Defense in collaboration with the consortium of universities supported by the Robertson Foundation for Government. The program was designed for a select group of 25 three-star military officers and civilian Senior Executive Service leaders directly selected by the Defense Secretariat. The group participated in intensive seminar discussions and a simulation exercise on cross disciplinary, cross service and inclusive civilian-military challenges to help prepare them for the upcoming presidential election and the legalities of working through the transition process. Please see program brochure on right for full details.

The program featured participation from:
Bob Work
Deputy Secretary of Defense, U.S. Department of Defense

Admiral Jon Greenert
Former Chief of Naval Operations, U.S. Navy

James Steinberg
Dean, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University

Ambassador Ryan Crocker
Dean and Executive Professor, Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University

Peter Cowhey
Dean, School of Global Policy and Strategy at University of California, San Diego

John Hamre
President & CEO, CSIS

Sean O’Keefe
Distinguished Senior Adviser, CSIS
University Professor, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University

Kathleen Hicks
Senior Vice President, Henry A. Kissinger Chair, and Director, International Security Program, CSIS

James Lewis
Senior Vice President, and Director, Strategic Technologies Program, CSIS

Directed by:
Nahmyo Thomas
Director of Executive Education, CSIS

Please see program brochure for full list of speakers and curriculum.

This program was made possible by the generous support of the Robertson Foundation for Government with additional support from the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.

John J. Hamre
CSIS President and CEO, and Langone Chair in American Leadership
Sean O’Keefe
Distinguished Senior Adviser (Non-resident), Office of the President
Kathleen H. Hicks

Kathleen H. Hicks

Former Senior Advisor
James Andrew Lewis
Senior Vice President; Pritzker Chair; and Director, Strategic Technologies Program