Energy Cooperation in the Western Hemisphere: Ottawa

November 17, 2006 • 8:00 am – 12:00 pm EST

Dr. Sidney Weintraub, who holds CSIS's Simon Chair in Political Economy, and Canada's Centre for Trade Policy and Law, hosted the second in a series of conferences to launch a new book Dr. Weintraub has edited, Energy Cooperation in the Western Hemisphere: Benefits and Impediments.

The book contains 11 country chapters with considerable detail on the energy, economic, political, and social situation in each one. The countries, all producers of oil and/or natural gas, are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad & Tobago, the United States, and Venezuela. Additional chapters will examine cooperation in North America (Canada, Mexico, and the United States), infrastructure and the environment, comparative regulatory and legal regimes, the roles of China and India in the hemisphere, plus discussions on the hemisphere-wide ramifications of energy cooperation or non-cooperation.