In Person

Meeting with Southern Methodist University's Indonesian Rule of Law Delegation


The CSIS Hills Program on Governance hosted a meeting with an Indonesian delegation organized by Southern Methodist University to discuss the rule of law and issues relating to the U.S. government. Led by a four-person panel, which included Roderick M. Hills (Founder & Chairman, CSIS Hills Program on Governance, Former Chairman, Securities and Exchange Commission), Ambassador Thomas R. Pickering (Vice Chairman, Hills & Company; Former Undersecretary for Political Affairs, U.S. State Department), William H. Webster (Chair, Homeland Security Advisory Board; Former Director, Central Intelligence Agency and Federal Bureau of Intelligence), and Gerald F. Hyman (President, CSIS Hills Program on Governance; Former Director, Democracy & Governance Office, U.S. Agency for International Development), the delegation engaged in substantive, one-on-one discussions with a panel of experts who have had extensive experience in the U.S. government.  

Members of the Indonesian delegation included the following (in alphabetical order):

Marzuki Darusman
DPR Member, Golkar (Partai Golongan Karya; Party of Functional Groups)

Harkristuti Harkrisnowo
Senior Law Faculty Member, University of Indonesia; Former member of National Law Commission

Dr. Haryono
Justice of the Constitutional Court

Mr. Haryono
Commissioner/Vice Chairman, Anticorruption Commission (KPK)

Nursyahbani Katjasungkana
DPR Member, National Awakening Party (Partai Kebangkitan BAngsa; PKB); member Commission III

Mieke Komar-Kantaatmadja
Justice of the Supreme Court

I Made Hendra Kusuma
Judge, Anticorruption Court

Todung Mulya Lubis
Chairman of Board, Transparency International Indonesia

Bagir Manan
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

Andi Mattalatta
Minister of Law & Human Rights

Anwar Nasution
Head, Supreme Audit Agency (Badan Pemeriksa Keuangan; BPK)

Roki Panjaitan
Judge; Asst to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

Harry Ponto
Secretary General, Association of Indonesian Advocates (PERADI)

Boediman Rahardjo
Chief of Legal Bureau, Attorney General’s Office

Babit Samad Rianto
Commissioner/Vice Chairman, Anticorruption Commission (KPK)

Mohamad Sobary
Executive Director, Partnership for Governance Reform (Kemitraan)

Hendarman Supandji
Attorney General

Herman Suryadi Sumawiredja
General, East Java District Police (Kapolda East Java)

Bivitri Susanti
Senior Researcher and Board Member, Center for Law & Policy Studies (Pusat Studi Hukum dan Keijakan; PSHK)

Muhammad Azis Syamsuddin
Deputy Head, DPR Commission III, Golkar (Partai Golongan Karya; Party of Functional Groups)

Zannuba Arifah Chafsoh Wahid
Director, Wahid Institute; recently named secretary general of the National Awakening Party (Partai Kebangkitan Bangsa; PKB)

Hoesein Wiriadinata
Indonesian Bar Association/Indonesian Legal Consultant Association

Dr. Zulkieflimansyah
DPR Member, Prosperous Justice Party (Partai Keadilan Sejahtera; PKS)


Non-Indonesian Participants

Cameron R. Hume
U.S. Ambassador to Indonesia

John Attanasio
Principal Investigator, Rule of Law Forum
Dean & William Hawley Atwell Professor of Constitutional Law
SMU Dedman School of Law

Rebekah Bell
Rule of Law Forum Administrative Assistant