Video On Demand

Schieffer Series: U.S. Trade and Economic Leadership in the Next Decade

September 17, 2020 • 9:00 – 10:00 am EDT

Available Downloads



Please join us for the next installment of the Schieffer Series, "U.S. Trade and Economic Leadership in the Next Decade."



Download the Statement

Guest moderator Nina Easton, formerly Fortune's award-winning Washington columnist and senior editor-at-large, will speak with the three co-chairs of the CSIS Trade Commission on Affirming American Leadership about their year-long work developing recommendations to cement U.S. global leadership in light of twenty-first century challenges. Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky, Senator William E. Brock, and Mr. Frederick W. Smith will share their thoughts on what the United States needs to do at home and in international trade policy to prepare itself for the economy of 2030 and ensure it remains a global leader. The panelists will also discuss how the Covid-19 pandemic impacts U.S. trade leadership, as well as current issues in global trade and supply chains.

About the CSIS-TCU Schieffer Series

Hosted by CBS News legend and CSIS Trustee Bob Schieffer, the Schieffer Series features thoughtful panel discussions with senior officials, lawmakers, journalists, and policy experts to discuss global challenges and critical issues of national security and foreign policy.

Now in its 11th consecutive year, the Schieffer Series is produced by the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) in partnership with the Bob Schieffer College of Communication at Texas Christian University (TCU) in Fort Worth, Texas.

This series is made possible with the generous support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF).

For information or inquiries contact

John J. Hamre
CSIS President and CEO, and Langone Chair in American Leadership
William E. Brock

William E. Brock

Former CSIS Counselor and Trustee
Nina Easton
Senior Associate (Non-resident), External Relations
Senior International Partner at WilmerHale; Former U.S. Trade Representative, 1997-2001