Michael and Deborah Thawley Scholarship in International Security

This scholarship, established in 2008 by former diplomat Michael Thawley and his wife Deborah, is run by the CSIS Australia Chair and the Lowy Institute to help support and mentor the next generation of Australia’s strategic thinkers

Program Description

The Michael and Deborah Thawley Scholarship in International Security at the Lowy Institute and the Center for Strategic and International Studies, Washington DC, provides an exceptional opportunity for an Australian official, officer, student, or recent graduate to play a part in the work of two leading think tanks dedicated to generating policy ideas on global strategic affair. The scholarship provides an award to cover flights, visa costs, and a travel allowance for the placement at Washington, DC. Successful candidates spend an initial period based at the Lowy Institute, in Sydney, followed by a placement of 8 to 12 weeks with CSIS in Washington DC, which provides direct exposure to both organizations’ work at the intersection of research and policy in international affairs, access to their research networks, and involvement in their policy work.

Information about applying for the Thawley Scholarship can be found on the Lowy Institute’s page.

Justin Burke is the 2022 Michael and Deborah Thawley Scholar in International Security at CSIS and the Lowy Institute in Sydney, Australia. He is also a non-resident fellow at the Center for Maritime Strategy and Security at the Institute for Security Policy at Kiel University, Germany. Justin is currently completing a PhD at Macquarie University in Sydney, where he also teaches. His research interests include the uses of submarines in naval diplomacy, the AUKUS pact, and defence and security policy more generally. In addition to authoring research for the Royal Australian Navy’s Sea Power Centre and other scholarly publications, his writings on defence and security regularly appear in print and online in Australia and internationally. Previously he was a journalist with The Australian newspaper and the Yomiuri Shimbun of Japan.

Justin Burke

Justin Burke

Past Thawley Scholars

  • 2019 – Brigid O’Farrell
  • 2018 – Rohana Prince
  • 2017 – Olivia Shen
  • 2016 – Patrick Ingle
  • 2014 – Jacob Berah
  • 2014 – Adelle Neary
  • 2013 – Andrew Kwon
  • 2012 – Jack Georgieff
  • 2012 – Ryan Manuel
  • 2011 – Esther Sainsbury