Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Terrorism

Task Force Chair: Frank J. Cilluffo
Task Force Coordinator: Sharon L. Cardash

The United States faces a series of threats to its homeland. These emerging challenges come from missile proliferation in rogue states; the potential use by terrorists of chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) devices; and various threats to the nation's critical information and economic infrastructure. These threats, although low in probability, have potentially high consequences. Some of them, particularly those involving nuclear and biological weapons have the potential to cause mass destruction.

To meet these challenges, the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) initiated an 18-month study to improve our understanding of Homeland Defense and chart a course for improving policy in this area. Combating Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Terrorism was one of four reports developed out of the four working groups, each consisting of more than 20 federal, states, local, and private-sector officials. A senior advisory group composed of senators, representatives, governors, and former military and government officials provided guidance.

The United States currently lacks a comprehensive strategy for countering the threats of terrorism involving nuclear, radiological, chemical, and biological weapons. Although federal, state, and local governments have made strides to prepare for terrorism involving these weapons, the whole remains less than the sum of the parts. This report provides roadmap of near- and long- term priorities for senior federal officials to marshal federal, states, private sector, and nongovernmental resources for defending the U.S. homeland against chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) terrorism.

Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Terrorism Task Force Membership

Kenneth Alibek, Hadron
Tom Antush, Federal Emergency Management Agency
Joseph Barbera, George Washington University
Steven Becker, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Pamela Berkowsky, Office of the Secretary of Defense
Robert Blitzer, SAIC, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Sam Brinkley, Department of State
Seth Carus, National Defense University
Guy Copeland, Computer Sciences Corporation
Anthony Cordesman, CSIS
Aaron Danis, Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Raymond Decker, General Accounting Office
Sheila Dryden, Department of Defense
Melvin Dubee, Senate Select Committee on Intelligence
Edward Eitzen, United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases
Mark Esper, Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs
Robert Filippone, Office of Senator Bob Graham
Lisa Gordon-Hagerty, National Security Council
Stephen Handelmann, Consultant
Jerome Hauer, Kroll Associates
Bruce Hoffman, RAND
Frank Hoffman, National Security Study Group
Keith Holterman, George Washington University
Edmund Hull, Department of State
Theodore Jerboe, Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service
Brian Jenkins, Consultant
Robert Kadlec, National War College
David Kay, SAIC
Randall Larsen, ANSER
Bruce Lawlor, US Joint Forces Command
Joshua Lederberg, Rockefeller University
Scott Lillibridge, Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Donald Lumpkins, Maryland Emergency Management Agency
Martha Madden, Consultant
John Magaw, Federal Emergency Management Agency
Paul Maniscalco, New York City Fire Department and Emergency Medical Services
Kirk McConnell, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
Alan McCurry, Office of Senator Pat Roberts
Kenneth Myers, III, Office of Senator Richard Lugar
Nicholas Palarino, House Subcommittee on National Security, Veterans Affairs, and International Relations
John Parachini, Monterey Institute of International Studies
H.K. Parke, Department of Defense
Paul Byron Pattak, The Byron Group
J. David Piposzar, Allegheny County Health Department
Daniel Poneman, Hogan & Hartson
Linnea Raine, Department of Energy
Timothy Sample, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
Chris Seiple, The Institute for Global Engagement
Walter Sharp, Attorney
Suzanne Spaulding, National Commission on Terrorism
Clark Staten, Emergency Response and Research Institute
Kevin Tonat, National Disaster Medical System
Jonathan Tucker, Monterey Institute of International Studies
Bert Tussing, Army War College
Donald Vincent, Booz-Allen & Hamilton
Michael Wermuth, RAND
Robert Wright, Computer Sciences Corporation
Allan Zenowitz, Federal Emergency Management Agency