Military Fellows

Every year senior officers from the United States Armed Forces are in residence at CSIS where they engage in programs of individual enrichment and research as well as collaboration with various CSIS scholars

The CSIS International Security Program annually hosts a group of fellows from the U.S. military. For over twenty years, ISP has been home to fellows from the Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, and Navy. The military fellows are integrated into ISP’s research portfolio and provide strategic, real-world expertise to the program. The military fellows’ connections help to ensure that our research is current and being utilized throughout the Department of Defense.

The 2022 – 2023 Military Fellows (l-r): Dr. Seth Jones (CSIS); Colonel Jaron Wharton; Commander Ginny Nadolny; Colonel David Mays; Dr. John Hamre (CSIS); Colonel John Christianson; Colonel Atiim Phillips; Commander Courtney “Stiles” Herdt; Mark Cancian (CSIS).
The 2021-2022 Military Fellows (l-r rows): (First Row) Commander Christopher Bernotavicius, Lieutenant Colonel Michelle Macander, Captain Brian McSorley, (Second Row) Colonel Danielle Ngo, Colonel Christopher Reid, Colonel Matthew Strohmeyer.
The 2020-2021 Military Fellows (l-r rows): (First Row) Colonel Jerry Bennett, Colonel James Cheney, Commander Angelina Hidalgo, (Second Row) Commander Eric McQueen, Lieutenant Colonel Joe Moye, Colonel Tobias Switzer.
The 2019-2020 Military Fellows (l-r standing): Lieutenant Colonel Brian Mulvihill, Lieutenant Colonel Edmund Loughran, Commander Mark McDonnell, Dr. John Hamre, Commander Jeff Benson, Colonel Jason Gresh, Lieutenant Colonel James Dailey.
The 2018-2019 Military Fellows (l-r standing): Lieutenant Colonel Zach Jiron, Lieutenant Colonel Frank Reyes, Lieutenant Colonel William Pacatte, Dr. John Hamre, Lieutenant Colonel Kurt Leffler, Commander Josh Taylor, and Commander Andrew Pate.
The 2017-2018 Military Fellows (l-r standing): Lieutenant Colonel Jason Williams, Colonel Jesse Friedel, Commander Thomas Ulmer, Colonel Brian Pearl, Dr. John Hamre, Lieutenant Colonel Russell Williford, Lieutenant Colonel John Butler, Captain John Cole.

The 2016-2017 Military Fellows (l-r standing): Colonel William Thigpen, Lieutenant Colonel Jeremiah Baldwin, Lieutenant Colonel Henry June Jr., Lieutenant Colonel W.R. Alan Dayton, Dr. John Hamre, Commander Micah Murphy. Not pictured: Captain Thomas Cooper.

Military Fellows

David Mays
Military Fellow, International Security Program