Who We Are

Pacific Forum Senior Staff

Ralph A. Cossa, President

Mr. Cossa sits on the boards of numerous foreign relations organizations throughout the Asia-Pacific region. As a recognized expert on U.S./Asia-Pacific foreign relations and policy, Mr. Cossa joins conferences for political, economic, military, and business leaders in countries around the world

Carl W. Baker, Executive Director

Mr. Baker oversees all Pacific Forum programs and is the coeditor of Comparative Connections. He has extensive experience as a foreign policy and political affairs analyst having lived and worked for extended periods in Korea, Japan, and the Philippines. Previously, he was a faculty member at the Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies.

David Santoro, Director and Senior Fellow of Nuclear Policy

Dr. David Santoro manages Pacific Forum’s track 1.5/2 nuclear policy dialogues and Asia-Pacific multilateral meetings on nonproliferation and nuclear security. He has worked on nuclear issues in France, Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom.

Crystal D. Pryor, Research Fellow/Program Director

Dr. Pryor is a program director for Pacific Forum’s security cooperation programs. Her research has focused on US-Japan relations and strategic trade controls.


Pacific Forum Staff

Georgette Almeida, Executive Assistant
Dana Almodova, Program Manager
Jesslyn Cheong, Senior Program Manager
Nick Ciuffetelli, Program Officer & Web Manager
Brooke Mizuno, Director of Grants Management and Institutional Support
Crystal Pryor, Program Director/Research Fellow
Radford Sagarang, Accounting/Personnel Specialist
David Santoro, Director & Senior Fellow, Nuclear Policy Programs
Keoni Williams, Director, Young Leaders Program

Pacific Forum Resident Fellows

Phone Myint Naing, Nuclear Policy Fellow
Kyaw Si Thu, Nonproliferation and Nuclear Security Fellow
Jeffrey Ordaniel, WSD-Handa Fellow

Counselors/Presidents Emeritus

L. R. Vasey, Founder and Senior Advisor for Policy
James A. Kelly, Former President, Pacific Forum CSIS
Amos A. Jordan, Former President, Pacific Forum CSIS

Senior Advisers/Senior Associates/Adjunct Fellows

Bates Gill, Australian National University Strategic and Defence Studies Centre
Bonnie Glaser, Senior Adviser for Asia, Freeman Chair in China Studies and Senior Associate, Pacific Forum
Brad Glosserman, Senior Adviser, Pacific Forum
Vivian Brailey Fritschi, ISN Editor, International Relations and Security Network
Donald G. Gross, Albright Stonebridge Group
John Hemmings, Adjunct Fellow
Ryo Hinata-Yamaguchi, Adjunct Fellow
Akira Igata, Adjunct Fellow, Visiting Professor, Center for Rule-Making Strategy, Tama University
William Lee Howell, World Economic Forum, Geneva
Michael Ying-Mao Kau, Former Deputy Foreign Minister Taiwan
Tomoko Kiyota, Adjunct Fellow
Toshifumi Kokubun, Senior Fellow, Partner, Deloitte Tohmatsu Consulting
Mihoko Matsubara, Adjunct Fellow
Tara O, Asia Policy Specialist
Linda Paul, Esq., Ocean Law and Policy Institute
Junbeom Pyon, Adjunct Fellow
Christopher Sigur, Federal Reserve Bank, San Francisco
Paul J. Smith, Naval War College
Scott Snyder, Senior Fellow for Korea Studies, Council on Foreign Relations
H.C. Stackpole, President Emeritus, APCSS
Timothy Stafford, Research Fellow
Susan E. Stahl, Senior Associate, U.S. Department of State (Ret.)
Atman Trivedi, Adjunct Fellow
Qinghong Wang, Former Vasey Fellow

Board of Governors

An international Board of Governors guides the Pacific Forum’s work. The Board is co-chaired by Richard Armitage, President, Armitage International and former US Deputy Secretary of State and Dr. Joseph S. Nye, Jr., former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs. The board includes leaders from Hawaii, the US mainland, and the larger Asia-Pacific region.


Richard Armitage, President, Armitage International; former US Deputy Secretary of State (Washington, DC)
Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Distinguished Service Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs (Boston)


Ralph A. Cossa, Pacific Forum CSIS, President (Honolulu)

Vice Chairmen

Thomas B. Hayward, Admiral USN (Ret.) President, Hayward Associates, Inc.; former Chief of Naval Operations and member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff (Seattle)
L. R. Vasey, Rear Admiral USN (Ret.) Founder and Senior Advisor for Policy, Pacific Forum CSIS; former Chief of Strategic Plans and Policies for US Pacific Command and Secretary to the Joint Chiefs of Staff (Honolulu)

Chairman Emeritus

Brent Scowcroft, Lt. Gen., USAF (Ret.) President, The Forum for International Policy; former Assistant to the President, National Security Affairs. (Washington, DC)


James F. Armington, Vice President - East Asia and Pacific, International Business Development, Boeing Defense, Space, & Security (Arlington)
Mary G. F. Bitterman, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation; former President, James Irvine Foundation (Honolulu and San Francisco)
Brunhilde K. Bradley, Commander USN (Ret.), Hawaii Armed Services YMCA board member (Honolulu)
Choi Shin Won, Chairman and CEO, SK Networks Co. Ltd (Seoul)
Karl W. Eikenberry, Lt.Gen., USA (ret), Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Stanford University; former US Ambassador to Afghanistan; former Commander of the American-led Coalition forces in Afghanistan; former Deputy Chairman of NATO Military Committee in Brussels (Stanford, CA)
Haruhisa Handa, Chairman, Worldwide Support for Development (Tokyo)
Ronald J. Hays, Admiral USN (Ret.) International Business Consultant; former Commander-in-Chief, US Pacific Command (Honolulu)
David A. Heenan, Trustee, Board of Trustees, The Estate of James Campbell (Honolulu)
Lee Howell, Managing Director, World Economic Forum (Geneva)
Irene Hirano Inouye, President, US-Japan Council; Trustee, Ford Foundation (Washington, DC)
Amos A. Jordan, Counselor and President Emeritus, Pacific Forum CSIS; former President, CSIS. (Bountiful, Utah)
James A. Kelly, Counselor, and President Emeritus, Pacific Forum CSIS; former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (Honolulu)
Jin Hyun Kim, Chairman, The World Peace Forum
Warren K. K. Luke, Chairman & CEO, Hawaii National Bank (Honolulu)
Hon Sir Jim McLay, KNZM QSO, Former Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand and New Zealand's Consul General in Honolulu
Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Chairman and CEO, ORIX Corporation (Tokyo)
Lauren Kahea Moriarty, Principal, Aloha Visions; former US Ambassador to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (Honolulu)
Robert M. ‘Skipp’ Orr, Former Ambassador/US Executive Director, the Asian Development Bank; former President, Boeing Japan (Kamakura, Japan)
Torkel Patterson, Principal, Group Pacific Inc.; former President, Raytheon Int’l.; former National Security Council Senior Director for Asian Affairs. (Washington, DC)
R.T. Peng, President, Taiwan Transportation Machinery Corp. (Taipei)
Rex C.A. Reyes, Chairman and CEO, Galaxy Group (Manila)
Jean E. Rolles, Vice President, Community Relations, Outrigger Enterprises, Inc. (Honolulu)
Charles B. Salmon, Adjunct Senior Fellow, Office of the President, East-West Center; former Ambassador to Laos (Honolulu)
James J. Shinn, Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for East Asia (Princeton, NJ)
H. Howard Stephenson, former Chairman, Executive Committee, Bank of Hawaii (Honolulu)
Barbara Tanabe, Director, Bank of Hawaii (Honolulu)
Sarasin Viraphol, Executive Vice President, Charoen Pokphand Group; former Thai Ambassador to the Philippines; former Director-General, Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Bangkok)
Jusuf Wanandi, Chairman, Supervisory Board, Centre for Strategic and International Studies (Jakarta)
Ronald "Zap" Zlatoper, Admiral USN (Ret.) Trustee, Board of Trustees, The Estate of James Campbell (Honolulu)


Pacific Forum Founder and Senior Advisor L.R. Vasey with Pacific Forum CSIS resident fellows.