Photo: Noah Seelam/AFP/Getty Images

Indian States

India is more than just a single country; it is also a complex federal grouping of 29 states and 7 Union Territories, each with its own politics, cultural identity, and reform priorities. India’s Constitution grants the states broad powers to legislate on many of the subjects most important to daily life: taxation, law and order, energy tariffs, and land acquisition, among others. The complex interplay of state and central government responsibilities and politics means that even sweeping national change in India often begins at the state level or requires the buy-in of state governments.

Visit Engaging Indian States

Follow CSIS India Chair’s work on Indian states through this page, covering latest publications and events.