CSIS Ukraine Economic Reconstruction Commission Members

*This list is up to date as of February 1, 2023

CSIS is pleased to announce the members of the CSIS Ukraine Economic Reconstruction Commission. The aim of the bipartisan and international CSIS Ukraine Economic Reconstruction Commission is to produce a policy framework that will help attract private sector investments to support Ukraine’s future economic reconstruction. To support the commission, CSIS will convene a series of working groups that will address a range of issue-specific areas that are critical for reconstruction and modernization of the Ukrainian economy, including agriculture, energy, and transportation and logistics, as well as addressing the impact of corruption on private sector investment. 

Commission Director

  • Daniel F. Runde, Senior Vice President; William A. Schreyer Chair; Director, Project on Prosperity and Development; and Director, Americas Program

Commission Co-Chairs  

  • Ambassador Paula J. Dobriansky, former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs; Senior Fellow, Harvard University Belfer Center for Science & International Affairs 
  • Greg Page, former CEO of Cargill
  • Michael Polsky, Founder and CEO of Invenergy 

Commission Members  

  • Paige Alexander, CEO of the Carter Center and former Assistant Administrator for Europe and Eurasia at USAID
  • Philip Bennett, former First Vice President of EBRD and former Vice Chairman at Citigroup
  • Karan Bhatia, Vice President of Government Affairs and Public Policy at Google and former Deputy U.S. Trade Representative
  • Brock Bierman, CEO of Ukraine Friends and former Assistant Administrator at USAID
  • Margaret Biggs, former President of the Canadian International Development Agency
  • Dan Bryant, Executive Vice President, Global Public Policy and Government Affairs, Walmart Inc
  • Heidi Crebo-Rediker, Adjunct Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and former Chief Economist at the State Department.
  • Tom Daschle, former U.S. Senator (D-SD) and Senate Majority Leader
  • Stephanie von Friedeburg, Senior Vice President of Operations at IFC (commission member in her personal capacity)
  • Michael Froman, Vice Chairman and President, Strategic Growth at Mastercard and former U.S. Trade Representative
  • Earl Gast, former USAID Mission Director and President of University Research Co. 
  • Archbishop Borys Gudziak, President, Ukrainian Catholic University, Lviv
  • John Hewko, General Secretary and CEO of Rotary International (former MCC and former Baker & McKenzie partner in Ukraine)
  • Natalie Jaresko, Chairperson Aspen Institute Kyiv and Minister of Finance Ukraine (2014-2016)
  • Jaroslawa Johnson, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of WNISEF
  • Janez Kopač, former Director of Energy Community Secretariat, former Minister of Environment, Spatial Planning and Energy of Slovenia, former Minister of Finance in Slovenia
  • Lenna Koszarny, Chair of the Board of Directors American Chamber of Commerce in Ukraine, Founding Partner and CEO of Horizon Capital
  • Pekka Lundmark, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Nokia
  • Hideki Matsunaga, Director General of Middle East and Europe Department, Japan International Cooperation Agency
  • Lester Munson, former Staff Director of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee
  • Robin Niblett, Director of the Chatham House
  • Ana Palacio, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain
  • James Prokopanko, former CEO of Mosaic (the largest U.S. producer of potash and phosphate fertilizer)
  • Peter Roskam, former U.S. Representative (R-IL) 
  • Oleh Rybachuk, former Chief of Staff to the President of Ukraine, Chairman and co-founder of the NGO Centre United Actions
  • Alexander Stubb, former Prime Minister of Finland, former Vice-President of the European Investment Bank, and currently at European University Institute
  • Martina Tauberova, former Deputy Minister for EU and International Trade of the Czech Republic
  • William Taylor, former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine
  • Eka Tkeshelashvili, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia
  • Jay Truesdale, CEO of Veracity Worldwide
  • Krystina Waler, Temerty Foundation
  • Olin Wethington, Founder and Principal of Wethington International LLC and former Assistant Secretary for International Affairs at the U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Philip Zelikow, former Counselor of the United States Department of State