CSIS Establishes High-Level Advisory Council to the Lillan and Robert D. Stuart Jr. Center in Euro-Atlantic and Northern European Studies

The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is pleased to announce the establishment of a high-level Advisory Council to the Lillan and Robert D. Stuart Jr. Center in Euro-Atlantic and Northern European Studies (the Stuart Center). The Stuart Center was formally launched by Prime Minister Erna Solberg of Norway on May 13, 2016, at CSIS and is generously funded by an endowment gift from the Stuart Family Foundation in honor of the late Robert D. Stuart Jr., former U.S. ambassador to Norway, and his wife, Lillan.

Dedicated to advancing understanding of the political, security, and economic developments in Northern Europe, with particular attention given to the regional implications of a rapidly changing Arctic, the Stuart Center has recently initiated major research projects to assess new security developments in the North Atlantic and evaluate future U.S. security engagement with Northern European partners.

“CSIS is delighted to welcome such a distinguished group of individuals who have generously agreed to provide their considerable insights and strategic guidance in support of Washington’s premier research center dedicated to Northern Europe, the Arctic, and NATO,” said John J. Hamre, CSIS president and CEO.

Geographically diverse, the Stuart Center Advisory Council includes members from the five Nordic countries, the Baltic region, and the United States:

Dr. Truman O. Anderson: Executive Director, Stuart Family Foundation

Ambassador Richard L. Armitage: Director, Armitage International L.C.; CSIS Trustee; and former U.S. Deputy Secretary of State

Ambassador Geir H. Haarde: Icelandic Ambassador to the United States; and former Prime Minister, Republic of Iceland

Ambassador Jonas Hafström: Chairman of the Board, Lund University; and former Swedish Ambassador to the United States

Kate Hansen Bundt: Secretary General, Norwegian Atlantic Committee

Her Excellency Marina Kaljurand: Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Estonia

Alice Rogoff: Publisher and Owner,

Alaska Dispatch

Admiral Gary Roughead (USN Ret.): Robert and Marion Oster Distinguished Military Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

His Excellency Alexander Stubb: Member of Finnish Parliament; and former Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Minister of Finance, Republic of Finland

Ambassador Peter Taksøe-Jensen: Danish Ambassador to India

“As geopolitical complexity and uncertainty grow, identifying the most dedicated and purpose-driven transatlanticists becomes a necessity. The Stuart Center is extremely fortunate to be able to draw on such talent and intellect to strengthen and enhance its research agenda,” said Heather Conley, director of the Stuart Center and senior vice president at CSIS.